32.1 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Gov. Yusuf Promises Prompt Disposal Of Waste

Kano State governor Abba Kabir Yusuf has said his government will continue to sustain the tempo of evacuation of waste from the streets of Kano with a view to making the state wear a new look.
Governor Yusuf maintained that the committee set up by him for that purpose had done a good job since it came on board.
He said his government inherited huge refuse dumps everywhere at the streets of Kano.
The joint task force on refuse evacuation (operation Nazafa) had evacuated more than 600 trucks within seven days of its operation.
The governor made the commendation while receiving last week’s report of the exercise from the members of the committee led by the chairman of the committee, Ambassador Alhaji Ahmadu Haruna Zago who visited him in his office at the weekend.
The governor who praised members of the committee for a wonderful performance charged them to consolidate and continue to mop up the remaining waste in all nooks and crannies of the state.
He pointed out that the present administration is committed to the safety and health of its teeming population, and that this could only be achieved through the provision of clean and tidy environment.
Engr. Abba Kabir therefore enjoined people in the state as a matter of collective responsibility to complement government efforts by avoiding indiscriminate dumping of waste especially on waterways and major roads, adding that government would not tolerate such kind of behaviour.
The governor who was represented by the secretary to the state government, Dr Abdullahi Baffa Bichi also commended some private companies and construction firms who supported the government in this process both foreign and indigenous companies.
The governor then presented the notification of appointment to the members of the committee and enjoined them not to relent until Kano is free from all forms of refuse.
The committee has Alhaji Ahmadu Haruna Zago as chairman, permanent secretary of the Ministry of Works, Engr. Mansur Yakubu as member, permanent secretary (special duties) Alhaji Abbas Sunusi, member; Engr. Abdulrazak Haruna, director engineering, member; and Sha’aya’u A. Jibrin, director operation, member.
Others are, Bashir Nasidi, chairman central working committee on self-help groups, member; Ismail Garba Gwammaja, director public enlightenment, member; Hamisu Muhammad Umar as co-secretary and Aliyu Yakubu Garo permanent secretary of the Ministry of Environment as secretary of the committee.
The chairman of the committee, Alhaji Danzago expressed members commitment to work assiduously for the betterment of Kano and people of Kano State.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Read


Latest stories