32.1 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

29 Year Old Youth Defeat Yobe Assembly Speaker After 20 Years in The House

The Speaker Yobe State House of Assembly Hon. Ahmed Lawan Mirwa of the ruling All Progressive Congress APC has lost his seat in the just concluded governorship and state house of assembly elections held, Saturday, March.
Lawan Mirwa, who is representing Nguru state constituency in the Yobe House of Assembly since 2003, lost his seat to young PDP candidate Musa Lawan Majakura.
Herald Reporters gathered that Musa Lawan Majakura of People’s Democratic Party PDP got 6,648 votes, to defeat Ahmed Lawan Mirwa of All Progressives Congress who had 6,466 votes.
Bukar Jatau of New Nigeria People’s Party got 23 votes, while Mai Zare Idriss Idriss APM Party got 14 votes followed by Isah Sa’idu Shehu of the ADC party who got 30 votes.
This was the results of the election, as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC’s returning officer, Nguru state Constituency Alhaji Mahdi Damatu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Read


Latest stories